After The Beginning



Carolyn Pogue Margaret Kyle

32 PP | 8.5" x 11"
ISBN: 978-1-896836-83-6

After the Beginning opens with the Divine Family (God, Goddess, and all the angels) celebrating the completion of the universe -- sun, moons, and eight perfect planets, with no mistakes at all. But when Little Angel suggests that there could be one more planet, one where "things aren't the same all the time," things begin to unravel.... God, Goddess, Little Angel, and the whole family of angels -- Inventor Angel, Artist Angel, Musician Angel, Arithmetic Angel, Scientist Angel, Geometry Angel, Biology Angel, and Fire Angel -- eagerly create a beautiful blue-green planet, filled with plants and animals and birds and fish. And for a long time, everything runs "just right." But then, some of the "new ones," who are just like angels, begin to get greedy and careless with their planet. They poison the water, pollute the air, and cut down the forests. Things get worse and worse, until children -- from all around the world cry "Remember!"

"Remember the forest!"

"Remember to share!"

"Remember the water!"

"Remember the air!"

In this wise and marvelously enchanting tale, Carolyn Pogue connects the sacredness of the earth, the ecological crisis, and children's leadership in a way that will inspire children and adults alike. A perfect complement, Margaret Kyle's vibrant illustrations create a sense of awe that will move and delight readers of all ages.

Carolyn Pogue, Author

Freelance writer and editor, Carolyn Pogue's work includes books, plays, articles, poetry and short fiction for both children and adults. She has edited several books, including Treasury of Celebrations and written Language of the Heart and Part-Time Parent for Northstone (an imprint of Wood Lake Publishing). Carolyn's latest work is a spiritual ecology book for children called After the Beginning (CopperHouse) and A World of Faith: Introducing Faith Traditions to Teens.

Carolyn Pogue grew up on a farm near Toronto, Ontario.  She is part of a group of women in The United Church working to end child poverty. She loves canoeing, camping and making art with Michael, Kate, Tristan, Foster and other kids. She writes a blog for The United Church Observer. To learn more about Carolyn, visit her website

Margaret Kyle, Illustrator

Margaret Kyle was a part of the creative process at Wood Lake Publishing for more than 20 years. She has illustrated many children's books, including The Family Story Bible and Lectionary Story Bible (Years A, B, C) by Ralph Milton; Is that Story True, by Laura Alary, and After the Beginning by Carolyn Pogue. Her painting "Burning Bush" graces the cover of the hymnal More Voices.